Michael McQuade

Special Advisor to the President, Carnegie Mellon University


J. Michael McQuade is special advisor to the president of Carnegie Mellon University (CMU), providing strategic advice on the University’s research enterprise and advocating for the role that science, technology, and innovation play nationally and globally.

From 2019 to 2021, he served as the Vice President for Research at CMU, working with academic leadership and faculty to advance cutting-edge ideas and research initiatives across the university, acting as lead ambassador for the university in forming new alliances, and stewarding already deep relationships with federal agencies and industry and foundation partners.

From 2006 to 2018, McQuade served as Senior Vice President for Science & Technology at United Technologies Corporation. At UTC, his responsibilities included providing strategic oversight and guidance for research, engineering, and development activities throughout the business units of the corporation and at the United Technologies Research Center, focused on a broad range of high-technology products and services for the global aerospace and building systems industries.

McQuade held senior positions with technology development and business oversight at 3M, Imation, and Eastman Kodak. He served as vice president of 3M’s medical division and president of Eastman Kodak’s health imaging business. His early career at 3M was focused on research and development of high-end acquisition, processing and display systems for health care, industrial imaging, and remote sensing. He has broad experience managing basic technology development and the conversion of early stage research into business growth.

McQuade holds Ph.D., M.S., and B.S. degrees in physics from Carnegie Mellon University. He received his Ph.D. in experimental high-energy physics for research performed at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory on charm quark production.

McQuade served as a member of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology and of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board and was a founding member of the Defense Innovation Board.