7:30 - 8 a.m. Breakfast

8 - 8:15 a.m. Welcome and Introduction

  • Adam Falk, President, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
  • Robert D. Atkinson, President, Information Technology Innovation Foundation
  • James H. Garrett, Provost and Chief Academic Officer, Carnegie Mellon University

8:15 - 8:30 a.m.
Opening remarks

  • Erwin Gianchandani, Assistant Director of the Directorate for Technology, Innovation and Partnerships, National Science Foundation

8:30 - 8:45 a.m. Keynote

  • Gregory A. Hebner, Assistant Director, White House Office of Science and Technology

8:45 - 9:45 a.m.
Summary of the report

  • Erica R.H. Fuchs, Director, National Network for Critical Technology Assessment; Professor, Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University
  • James Evans, Colead, National Network for Critical Technology Assessment; Professor, Department of Sociology, University of Chicago
  • Cassidy Sugimoto, Tom and Marie Patton School Chair and Professor, School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Erik Brynjolfsson, Jerry Yang and Akiko Yamazaki Professor, Stanford Institute for Human - Centered AI, Stanford University
  • Dashun Wang, Professor of Management & Organizations, Northwestern University
  • Hassan Khan, Semiconductor Executive Fellow in Residence, Carnegie Mellon University (November 2022–June 2023)
  • Christophe Combemale, Assistant Research Professor, Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Rena Conti, Dean’s Research Scholar and Associate Professor of Markets, Public Policy, and Law, Boston University
  • Baruch Fischhoff, Howard Heinz University Professor, Engineering and Public Policy, Institute for Strategy and Technology, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Katie Whitefoot, Associate Professor, Engineering and Public Policy, Mechanical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Elsa Olivetti, Associate Dean of Engineering, Jerry McAfee (1940) Professor in Engineering, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, MIT

9:45 - 10:00 a.m.
Audience Q&A

  • Robert D. Atkinson, Moderator

10 - 10:30 a.m.
Fireside Chat: The need for rapid Critical Technology Assessment

  • Kelvin K. Droegemeier, Former Director, OSTP
  • Marcia McNutt, President, National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine
  • Moderator: Wendy Edelberg, Director, The Hamilton Project; Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institute

10:30 - 10:45 a.m.

10:45 - 11:15 a.m.
Fireside Chat: Discussion of Report and Looking Ahead

  • John Hennessy, Professor and President Emeritus, Stanford University
  • Michael McQuade, Former SVP, United Technologies Corporation; Former VP Research, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Gilda A. Barabino, Chair of the Board, American Association for the Advancement of Science, and President, Olin College of Engineering
  • Moderator: Erica R.H. Fuchs

11:15 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Plenary - Pilot year and looking ahead: Industry and Union Perspectives

  • Amanda Ballantyne, Director, AFL-CIO Technology Institute and Working for America Institute 
  • Brent Hecht, Director of Applied Science, Microsoft
  • Christopher George, CTO, Corporate Strategy & Ventures Group, Intel
  • Lawrence C. Schuette, Director, Global Research & Innovation, Lockheed Martin
  • Moderator: Robert D. Atkinson

12:00 - 12:15 p.m.
BREAK and get lunch

12:15 - 1:00 p.m.
LUNCH: Toward a community of practice in rapid Critical Technology Assessment

  • Sue Helper, Senior Advisor for Industrial Strategy, White House Office of Management and Budget; Professor of Economics, Weatherhead School of Management, Case Western Reserve University
  • Robert Cook-Deegan, Professor, School for the Future of Innovation in Society, and Consortium for Science, Policy & Outcomes, Arizona State University
  • Jay Crossler, Technical Fellow, MITRE
  • Celia Merzbacher, SRI International
  • Dewey Murdick, Colead, National Network for Critical Technology Assessment; Director, Center for Security and Emerging Technology (CSET), Research Faculty, Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service
  • Moderator: Kaye Husbands Fealing, Dean, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts, Georgia Institute of Technology

1:00 - 1:20 p.m.
Closing remarks

  • Wendy Edelberg and Erica R.H. Fuchs